Salmonella species are a leading cause bacteria diarrhea worldwide.

The Salmonella genus is divided taxonomically into six Salmonella enterica subspecies and Salmonella bongori. A total of 2500 different Salmonella serotypes have been identified up to 2004. Salmonella enteriditis and Salmonella typhimurium, the two most important serotypes for salmonellosis transmitted from animals to humans.

Salmonella causes two types of diseases: enteric (typhoid) fever and acute gastroenteritis commonly referred to as salmonellosis.

Transmission of Salmonella occurs through contaminated food (poultry, poultry products, beef, pork, eggs, milk, and seafood), water or contact with infected animals. Due to the ability of Salmonella to multiply in a wide variety of foods, it is important to be able to isolate the organisms even when present in very small numbers in the faeces.

The symptoms of Salmonella infection are abdominal pain, diarrhoea, mild fever, chills, headache, nausea and vomiting, developing 12–72 hours (but occasionally as long as 7 days) after infection. The discomfort generally lasts a few days. It can be dangerous for the elderly, infants and the immunocompromised, who may become extremely ill.

Salmonella is also one of the leading predictors for reactive arthritis, a painful, chronic and potentially debilitating condition that causes joint inflammation.

Available Certest screening tests for Salmonella:

Rapid Test:



For Salmonella paratyphi A detection:

For Salmonella typhi detection:

 For Salmonella paratyphi B and typhimurium detection:

 For Salmonella enteriditis detection: